Annual Awards & Presentation Evening

Illawarra Blue Stars celebrated a very successful track and field season for 2016/2017, when a large crowd of members and supporters gathered on Saturday evening.  Not only fine performances were celebrated but the club also paid tribute to the contribution and loyalty that many members have paid to IBS.

Life Membership badges was presented to Sue Sundstrom, Gianna Mogentale and Jodie Sundstrom for their 15 years Continuous Service to the club.  A stirring speech was made by John Munro, husband of the late Janet Munro, as he presented the newly name Janet Munro Officials Award.  Top coach Peter Lawler congratulated the senior athletes who were present and have performed well in all meets, but re-enforced that athletics must retain members from the sports who offer large money to play in team sports.

Outstanding female athletes of the year were won by Masters’ champion Mary Thomas and young hurdler Grace Adams.  Grace then shared the Sprinter of the Year with another Masters’ athlete Lynda Douglas.  Mary then took out the Thrower of the Year sharing this with Male state representative Connor Dymond.

John Lamb received the Outstanding Male of the Year for his fine performances in both State and World Titles in both sprints and hurdles, but Kyle Grubnic won the male Sprinter of the Year for his efforts in both State and Australian titles and his 3rd placing in the Stawell Gift.  Distance athlete of the Year went to Darrin James for his consistent performances in both 800m and 1500m, whilst junior athlete, Jake Attwell took out the Walker of the Year for his all round good performances in both IBS and Little A’s competition.

Jumper of the Year was shared by high jumpers Nicholas Horton and Jye Shumack, both representing the State, Jye clearing the magical 2m in the high jump and Nicholas representing in both the high jump and the triple jump.

The Juvenile Athlete of the Year, awarded on performances all round for an U12 athlete, was taken out by Charlotte Smith, her performances in the Country titles being the highlight of her year.

The Janet Munro Official of the Year award was won by the Deegan Family for the wonderful all round willingness to come forward and officiate at any time, whilst the Hogg Family was awarded the GE & JH Loomes Award for contribution to the sport in a sportsmanship manner.

Open athlete Kaitlyn Neto was the winner of the Female Sportsmanship and Continued Support to the Club, with club President GeoffHynoski being judged the maleathlete in the same category.

Male sprinter Josh Bell and Masters’ female athlete Heidi Smith were judged for their Loyal Support to Club and Community Welfare, both people sharing athletics with a number of other community activities.

Sprinter Gianna Mogentale was judged the Ideal Club Women for her outstanding contribution to the club both as an athlete and official, whilst Ian Smith took the men’s awardin the same category, once again showing outstanding contribution to both as an official and competitor.

The President’s Award for a person living outside the area but attending the club and representing the club as much as possible went to sprinter Michael Daly, with Sara Guevara being judged the Rookie Masters athlete of the year after her good performances in sprints and jumps making a comeback to the sport after a successful career as a junior athlete.

Cooper Deegan and Jessica Hogg were judged the Promising Distance Athletes of the Year,  both showing they have plenty of room for improvement over the longer distances.

Newcomer Wayne Adams donned the shoes with his two girls and his wife Amanda and made a large contribution to the point score at Country, coming into the sport at an older age, and showing he can have a successful career in the sport as a masters athlete

Awards for Encouragement to Continue went to : The Braeden Gibbins Awards for Track - Jonti Faulkner, for field - Andrew Lau, whilst in the women’s track went to Natasha Hynoski and field to Ashleigh Hogg.

Overall the season was very successful but open women athlete Rebecca dos Santos and juvenile athlete Joshua Smith won the Yearly Point Score Awards showing that consistency at club meets wins out.  The Masters’ Point Score went to Gianna Mogentale in the women’s and Geoff Hynoski in the men’s .  All 4 had an outstanding attendance at Sunday clubs meets.

IBS will now head into the winter with the first cross country meet held last Sunday on the beautiful Bulli Course.  Any athlete wishing to take part, or for more information see the club’s web site or phone 4262 8498.

All divisional award winners and runners up appear below: