Major Awards taken out by all age Athletes

At the recently held Annual Awards and Presentation evening of IBS, all ages were featured in the major awards.  In front of a packed crowd of over 75 members, Male Sprinter of the Year for men was shared by Junior athlete Steven Harriman with Masters athlete John Lamb, whilst the same award in the women was shared by Open female sprinter Stephanie Power and Masters athlete Gianna Mogentale.

Junior athletes dominated the Jumper of the Year with Nicholas Horton sharing with Jye Shumack, whilst junior athlete Jake Attwell took out Walker of the Year and Promising Distance Athlete along with another junior, Emma Matthews.

Seniors and Masters shared the Thrower of the Year with Mary Thomas (Master) and Open champion Chelsea Lenarduzzi, whilst Australian junior champion Trey Barlow was awarded the men’s award.  Trey then teamed with John lamb to be awarded the Outstanding Male Athletic Performance with Masters champion June Lowe sharing the same award for women with Open Australian champion Chelsea Lenarduzzi.

Masters middle distance athlete Colin Clarson was awarded the Distance Athlete of the Year and backed this up by being awarded the President’s Award presented to an athlete living outside the Wollongong area but supporting the club.

Senior athlete Rebecca Dos Santos was presented the Sportsmanship and Continued Support to Club with male senior athletes Connor Dymond and Lachlan Parry sharing the men’s.

Ideal Club Man went to Masters champion Darrin James with U20 female Jessica Hogg taking out the women’s award.   Loyal Support to Club and Community Welfare went to another Masters Athlete Ian Smith and U20 female Kaitlin Neto.  U12 member Thomas Cleverly took out the Juvenile athlete of the Year with another U12 athlete Charlotte Smith.

Senior/Masters athlete and official Jodie Sundstrom took home the Official of the year, whilst newcomer Sara Doran was judged the Rookie Master of the Year and Geoff Hynoski was awarded the Steele Family Elvire Asprey award.

Senior athlete Kaisha Edwards has shared the GE & JH Loomes Award with U20 male sprinter Joshua Bell.

Jye Shumack was the winner of the Beaton Park Scholarship being placed the highest Wollongong resident of IBS in the Australian Junior titles (4th) in the high jump.

Encouragment awards were once again shared by junior and senior athletes with Joshua Park being awarded along with Kyle Grubnic for track and junior high jumper Brett Harriman the field.  In the women’s section, juniors dominated with Ashlyn Adams for track and Bianca Kelly for field.

The awards highlighted the age mixture of the club and the knowledge that all members regardless of age are all taken into account for major awards.  Our thanks go to all athletes and supporters who attended the recently held presentation evening, making it a highly successful event for a very successful season of track and field.

The overall point score winners went to brother and sister act Thomas Cleverly (men) and Georgia Cleverly (women) whilst Gianna Mogentale was the overall women’s masters’ winner and Ian Smith taking out the masters men.

All divisional award winners and runners up appear below: